The Future of Collective Bargaining

Seminar 20

Venue: CWU Offices, William Norton House, 575-577 North Circular Road Dublin 1, D01 TR53 Date: 13 June 2024



Agenda

12:00pm	Registration
12:30pm – 12:40pm	Opening remarks, Owen Reidy ICTU General Secretary
12:40pm – 1:00pm	Special Address – Agnes Jongerius (former) <i>MEP S&D Group</i>
1:00pm – 1:20pm	Special Address – Dennis Radtke EPP Coordinator of the EMPL Committee (German Trade Union IG BCE)
1:20pm – 2:00pm	Lunch
2:00 – 2:20pm	Respect at Work Campaign – Fionnuala Ní Bhrógáin <i>CWU</i>
2:20pm – 3:50pm	Panel discussion on the transposition of the Adequate Minimum Wages Directive. Panel participants include Ethel Buckley <i>DGS SIPTU</i> , Agnes Jongerius <i>ex MEP S&D Group</i> , Dennis Radtke <i>MEP EPP Group</i> , Professor Michael Doherty <i>Maynooth University</i> and Professor John Geary <i>UCD</i> . Includes comments and questions from the floor.
3:50pm – 4:00pm	Concluding comments, Katie Morgan ICTU Vice President and chair of the seminar.

Biographies



Owen Reidy was appointed General Secretary of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions in October 2022. Before taking up this role he was the Assistant General Secretary with responsibility for Northern Ireland since 2016. A union official with over 24 years full-time experience in the Irish trade union movement he started his union career

as an official with SIPTU in Mayo in 1998. During his 18 years in SIPTU, he represented and organised workers across the Republic of Ireland in the aviation, state and related agency, finance, contract cleaning and security services sectors. From 2013-16 he was a member of the SIPTU management team leading one of the Union's 5 Divisions, the Transport, Energy, Aviation and Construction (TEAC) Division. He led several significant industrial disputes during that period including the Greyhound lockout, the Luas dispute and disputes in the CIE transport group. He is a father of 2 and from Donegal.



Fionnuala Ní Bhrógáin is the Head of Organising & Campaigning with the Communications Workers' Union. Fionnuala is a member of the National Executive of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and has been a member of the Low Pay Commission since 2021.



Ethel Buckley was elected a Deputy General Secretary of SIPTU in 2017 and re-elected in 2023. As SIPTU Deputy General Secretary for Organising and Membership Development she is responsible for the union's organising, campaigning, education and learning, communications, equality and network of District Councils. She has led high

profile successful campaigns such as Stop 67, Justice for Clerys Workers and the Fair Play campaign for union recognition for the ROI women's football team. She is a founder of the recently launched Respect at Work campaign. She represents Congress on the Board of the Workplace Relations Commission and previously represented Congress on the Pensions Commission.



Professor Michael Doherty is Full Professor of Law, and former Head of the School of Law & Criminology, at Maynooth University (Ireland). His expertise lies in the areas of Irish and EU employment and labour law, industrial relations, and social dialogue. He has published widely on all of these topics in international books and

journals, has worked on a number of EU-wide projects on cross-border working terms and conditions, and is a member of several European research networks looking at employment and labour law and policy in the EU. He chaired the Irish Government's High-Level Group on Collective Bargaining, which reported in 2022, making several recommendations for reform of the Irish industrial relations system.



Professor John Geary is Full Professor of Employment Relations at the School of Business, University College Dublin and Honorary Professor at the Marco Biagi Foundation, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy. John's area of expertise is in the broad area of work and employment. Currently, he is the principal investigator of

the Working in Ireland Survey series. John obtained his doctorate from the University of Oxford where he studied at Nuffield College. In the past, John worked at Warwick Business School in the UK, held visiting professorships at the University of Jena, the University of Louvain, the University of Trento, the University of Bologna, the University of Oslo, and was Jean Monnet Fellow at the European University Institute (EUI), Florence. He was the first Director of UCD's College of Business and Law Graduate School and was also Director of Doctoral Studies at the UCD School of Business.



Agnes Jongerius has been a Member of the European Parliament, representing the Dutch Labour Party (Partij van de Arbeid) since 2014. Before, she was the chair of the most prominent Dutch trade union, FNV. In Brussels, she has been dedicated to combating the exploitation of migrant workers, improving labour rights for freelancers, and addressing issues with platforms such as Uber and Deliveroo. She proudly reflects on the negotiations she conducted on behalf of the European Parliament as Co-rapporteur with the member states to introduce an European adequate minimum wage directive. Following the upcoming European elections, she will retire and pass the baton to a new generation.



Dennis Radtke (born 29 April 1979) is a German politician who has been serving as a Member of the European Parliament (MEP) since 24 July 2017, representing Germany. He is a member of the Christian Democratic Union, part of the European People's Party. Radtke has been a Member of the European Parliament since July

2017, when he succeeded Herbert Reul. In parliament, he has since been serving on the Committee on Employment and Social Affairs. In addition to his committee assignments, he is a member of the parliament's delegation for relations with the Korean Peninsula and the European Parliament Intergroup on Trade Unions.



Katie Morgan is a National Secretary for Fórsa, and Head of Fórsa's Services & Enterprises Division. Katie is one of the elected Vice Presidents of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions and is a member of the ICTU General Purposes Committee and ICTU executive.



Irish Congress of Trade Unions 31/32 Parnell Square Dublin 1, D01 YR92 Ireland

Tel: + 353 1 8897777 Email: congress@ictu.ie

Web: www.ictu.ie

Northern Ireland Committee Irish Congress of Trade Unions 45-47 Donegall Street Belfast BT1 2G, Northern Ireland

Tel: 02890 247940 Email: info@ictuni.net

Web: www.ictuni.org

Follow us 🛞 @irishcongress